University of Florida Homepage

Awards and Research Opportunities

This page contains links and information about a variety of opportunities that undergraduates can take advantage of.

R. M. Hare Undergraduate Essay Prize

Professor Hare, Graduate Research Professor Emeritus, University of Florida

The Department of Philosophy is pleased to announce the 2020 R.M. Hare Undergraduate Essay Prize in Moral Philosophy.

The Prize, in the amount of $100, is awarded each Spring for the best essay in moral philosophy submitted to the competition. The competition is open to all undergraduates at the University of Florida. Submissions should be made to the Undergraduate Coordinator of the Philosophy Department by April 22, 2020 (the last day of Spring semester classes) for consideration for this year’s award. The winner of the competition will be announced and the award formally presented at the department’s end of the year reception for its graduating seniors.

Electronic submission is strongly preferred. Please email your paper as a pdf file to the Undergraduate Coordinator, Dr. Ahlberg. If you’d like to submit a paper copy, or a file in another format, please email first about how best to do so.

Submissions should be prepared for blind review: they should be prepared so that evaluators can read them without knowing who the authors are. To do this, make sure your name does not appear anywhere in the paper itself, including the notes. Instead, put your name and contact email address in the email you send with your submission.

Professor Hare, Graduate Research Professor Emeritus, University of Florida and former White’s Professor of Moral Philosophy at Oxford University, was among the 20th century’s foremost ethical theorists. Among Professor Hare’s many influential books are the seminal The Language of Morals (1952), Freedom and Reason  (1963), Essays on Philosophical Method (1972), Essays on Political Morality (1989), Essays on Bioethics (1993), and the collection, Sorting Out Ethics (1997).

For further information, please contact Dr. Ahlberg.

Ellen Haring Award

This award was established in honor of the late Professor Ellen Haring for her many contributions to the Department of Philosophy at the University of Florida. Each year the award is bestowed upon a graduating philosophy major who demonstrates both academic excellence and service to the larger community.

CLAS Scholars Program

The CLAS Scholars Program (CSP) gives undergraduate students an opportunity to work one-on-one with a CLAS faculty member on a research project and earn a $2000 stipend. Scholars can pursue a variety of different types of projects including laboratory-based research, field work, and scholarly activities. See here for more information.

University Scholars Program

A competition is held each spring within participating colleges for the University Scholars awards that includes a $1750 stipend. The program will consist of undertaking a full research project, under the guidance of a faculty member. See here for more information.

Summer Opportunities in Philosophy

A number of universities sponsor summer programs in philosophy for interested students. These can be a great way to meet other students interested in philosophy and broaden your philosophical perspective.

APA Undergraduate Workshops in Philosophy

APA Undergraduate Diversity Institutes in Philosophy

Carnegie Mellon Summer School in Logic and Formal Epistemology