University of Florida Homepage

Kirk Ludwig Graduate Essay Prize

The Department of Philosophy is pleased to announce the 2020 Kirk Ludwig Graduate Essay Prize.

The Prize is awarded each Spring for the best essay in philosophy by a current graduate student in the department. Submissions should be made to the Graduate Coordinator of the Philosophy Department by April 27, 2020 for consideration for this year’s award. The winner of the competition will be announced and the award formally presented at the department’s end of the year reception.

To submit your paper for consideration, please email it as a pdf file to the Graduate Coordinator, Dr. Duncan.

The prize is named for Professor Kirk Ludwig, who was for many years a member of the UF Philosophy department, and closely involved with the graduate program during that time. He is the author of From Individual to Plural Agency: Collective Action 1 (OUP 2016) and From Plural to Institutional Agency: Collective Action 2 (OUP 2017), among many other works.

2019’s prize was won by Jim Gillespie, for his paper “Believing in the Face of Controversy”.

For further information about the prize, please contact our Graduate Coordinator, Dr. Duncan.